Sebastian’s Special Drawer

I firmly believe that you have to pick your battles.  There will be ones that are Important To Win and there are those that really…it’s better to let someone else win.  This drawer is one of the latter.  Sebastian’s “area” is pretty much the entire living room.  I have one of the baby yard…things…that are supposed to be in circle, but instead I have it going around the outside of the “area” so that he can’t get to anything that could hurt him.  He’s kept in (pretty much…he’s crafty) by the couch (L shaped), another section of the yard, and a toy.  In the middle is his Land.  The coffee table is the only thing that isn’t his…but is slowly being taken over as he gets smarter and stronger.  

First to go was the stuff in the shelves on the sides of it.  Some of his toys and books are now there instead of our magazines and books.  I thought that would be it.  Oh, how wrong I was.  There are also 2 drawers on one side of it.  This table is Solid.  It’s very heavy and so are the drawers…but he’s finally able to open the top one (it’s smaller).  

Oh it was a battle!  Him opening it and trying to get at the stuff, us telling him to stop, that it wasn’t his, removing him, closing it.  He’d CRYYYYYY!  He’d try to hold it open so we couldn’t close it!!  It was awful.  One night I decided…it’s really not worth it.  He’s too young to Really understand that, “Hey son, this drawer is not only full of Mummy & Daddy’s stuff, but it’s also stuff that is important/dangerous/etc”  So after he went to bed I cleaned it out and put all his little stuff in there.  The next day, sure as the sun will rise, he went over to the table and opened the drawer.  I think his first surprise was that I didn’t stop him…and then he looked in and saw what was in there now and…it was so worth it, to lose this battle.  He was SO HAPPY.  He Loves putting his things in the drawer, taking them out and playing, putting some back to grab some different ones…

I know that we can’t always let him get his way…but I’m also glad that I realized that this wasn’t worth fighting with a baby about.  We’re all happier now that he has His Very Own Drawer.  And I *think* I did it in a good way?  I didn’t just give in…I treated it as a surprise and he’s so pleased!!ImageImage

One thought on “Sebastian’s Special Drawer

  1. TBM says:

    How cute. We all need our space for treasures and dreams.

Leave a Reply

